bsologocolourThe BSO was founded in 1981 as a result of the Music 81 Project of the Victorian Government, and was the successor of the Bendigo Concert Orchestra.
The orchestra occupies a key space in the musical life of the City of Greater Bendigo, with the Mayor of Bendigo as Patron.

The BSO is an amateur community Orchestra which rehearses weekly during school term times, and performs at least 3 public concerts per year.  Please contact us if you are interested in joining; we are currently welcoming new string players.

Music Director: Luke Severn.  The BSO is delighted to welcome Luke as the new Music Director for 2019-2020.

2020 Performance Season – Save the dates!

2020 Program Launch, Free Event
Sunday 23rd February, 2.30pm at Bendigo Art Gallery, View St. Bendigo
You are invited to join us for a short varied program of chamber music reflecting what’s to come in our four exciting concerts for 2020.
Hear about the fantastic features of our upcoming program, meet some of our Bendigo Symphony orchestra members and enjoy afternoon tea.
Subscription tickets for the year’s program will be on sale on the day.

Sunday 29th March, 2.30pm at St Paul’s Cathedral, Myers St. Bendigo
Conductor: Luke Severn
Concert “Eroica” celebrating 250 years of Beethoven.  The program will feature Beethoven’s Eroica Symphony (No. 3) along with Ruby Shirres as our guest violist in Vaughan Williams’ Suite for Viola and Orchestra.
Tickets: Adults $25, Concession $20, Secondary Students $10, Primary School aged children and younger are Free.

Sunday 28th June at The Capital Theatre, Bendigo
Sunday 4th October at St Paul’s Cathedral, Bendigo
Plus a date in December to be confirmed.

BSO projects are sometimes funded with assistance from:

  • City of Greater Bendigo Community Grants Program.
  • UFS Pharmacies’ Building a Healthier Community Program.
  • Ulumbarra Foundation.

COGB _logo_primary      ufs_logo       Ulumbarra Foundation logo2

The Bendigo Symphony Orchestra Inc. is registered with the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission